Andy Smithson: Battle for the Land’s Soul ~ By: L.R.W. Lee

Battle for the Land's Soul (Andy Smithson #7)

5 Stars

I’ve been reviewing this series since book 1 and I’m rather sad that it’s over. I loved checking my email and, twice a year, finding an email containing a review file for the newest Andy Smithson book. It was like a miniature, surprise present. This last installment arrived in my email just in time for my birthday. It was perfect timing, wasn’t it?
This is a wonderful series, engaging and completely clean; safe for all ages.
Note: There are some well-written battle scenes, and there was a bit of well-described carnage in this last book that was quite fitting for a Final Battle.
This series is written very well. Frequently when I read I am conscious of the writer’s style, or rephrase sentences in my head in order to make them sound better to me, but that doesn’t happen with L.R.W. Lee’s books.
I loved watching the main character in this series grow as a person throughout these installments. Like all of us, he had his own issues and shortcomings, but throughout the series he learned how to handle complications that arose, and the reader learned with him. This series is full of moral lessons in the best way, and it doesn’t’ come across as preachy, which is something that is frequently irritating in other books.
There were some twists in this book. They weren’t exactly plot twists, but new information was revealed about certain people or creatures in the series that you didn’t even know had a mystery surrounding them.
Something that is interesting, and I would say unique, about this series is that one Final Battle didn’t save the kingdom, and the Great Evil wasn’t defeated in one fight. There were stages. So while there was definitely a Final Battle in this last book, saving the kingdom had been a process, and in each book we got a little closer, but we never knew quite how the final resolution was going to come about.
My favorite character had a solid 15% of the book focused on him. I was quite pleased; I was so hoping that I would learn a lot more about him, especially considering what a mystery he was for the majority of the series.
I love all the characters in the Andy Smithson books, and I love the world in which the story takes place. I’m going to miss this series; for the past few years Andy Smithson books have been a welcome surprise in my inbox.
Thankfully, the author is not done writing yet! I will be reviewing future series and I am looking forward to that.

2 thoughts on “Andy Smithson: Battle for the Land’s Soul ~ By: L.R.W. Lee

  1. Have you ever thought about creating an ebook or guest authoring on other websites? I have a blog based on the same ideas you discuss and would really like to have you share some stories/information. I know my subscribers would value your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e-mail.

    Like

Leave a Reply

