January 2017 Owlcrate Unboxing

I’ve never gotten an Owlcrate before; but this past Christmas I was given a three month subscription.

The first (And as of now, only) Owlcrate box I’ve received is this month’s ‘Classic Remix’ box.

Now, if you are a follower of this blog you likely know how fond I am of classics, and, frankly, anything old and vintage.

I loved this box.

Shown here is tea, a bar of soap shaped like an open book, and a Slaughterhouse Five bookmark.

The tea and soap are special Owlcrate editions. The tea is a Mint and Rose ‘The Little Prince’ variation. The soap is titled ‘The Secret Garden’. In the above image the soap is shown upside down, because the library card on the back is too clever to not show.

I wasn’t as excited about these two as I was about other things in the box, but mostly because these things will wear out or be used up. Also, I’m not much of a tea drinker, even though I’m trying to make myself into one. You never know, maybe ‘The Little Prince’ tea will help me with that.

I have not yet read Slaughterhouse Five, and if I had the bookmark would likely be much more exciting. Even so, it is made of a firm, durable material, and the watercolor artwork is beautiful. Each side of the bookmark contains half of one quote, which I liked.

Now I need to read Slaughterhouse Five.

This picture contains the things that I was nearly ecstatic about.

The ‘Le Fantome de l’Opera’ is a magnet. You may not be able to tell from the picture, but it looks like the color was painted on. You can see it on the leaf; you can see brushstrokes and that parts of the color are more faint, and others darker. It increases the ‘old and classic’ vibe of the magnet. I love this; and can’t wait to display it on my fridge for my friends and I to admire.

I was thrilled with the button. I have recently developed a love of buttons, and it seems that I now have a goal to collect as many as I can.

This task is made much easier by my volunteering at our local museum; there is an abundance of buttons to be had there if you’re working events.

The last item in this image is a calendar. Each month is a different image portraying a children’s classic. I think that it is just too pretty to use; I’ll have to hang it up somewhere purely for the purpose of admiring it.

The last thing that I pulled out of the box was the book.

I knew that this would be the book that was included; I am on the NetGalley website quite frequently.

However, I didn’t mind knowing; because this was a book that I was excited to read.

About Roseblood:

In this modern day spin on Leroux’s gothic tale of unrequited love turned to madness, seventeen-year-old Rune Germain has a mysterious affliction linked to her operatic talent, and a horrifying mistake she’s trying to hide. Hoping creative direction will help her, Rune’s mother sends her to a French arts conservatory for her senior year, located in an opera house rumored to have ties to The Phantom of the Opera.

At RoseBlood, Rune secretly befriends the masked Thorn—an elusive violinist who not only guides her musical transformation through dreams that seem more real than reality itself, but somehow knows who she is behind her own masks. As the two discover an otherworldly connection and a soul-deep romance blossoms, Thorn’s dark agenda comes to light and he’s forced to make a deadly choice: lead Rune to her destruction, or face the wrath of the phantom who has haunted the opera house for a century, and is the only father he’s ever known.

With the Hardcover copy of Roseblood was included the signed bookplate, which I plan to stick inside the cover, and a note from the author. The note is written for Owlcrate readers, telling about some of her thoughts on the book, and why she had wanted to write it.

I had thought that January’s box was the perfect box for me; I’m now no longer sure.

I mean, have you seen this announcement? Their next box is going to be CIRCUS THEMED.

I’m so freaking excited.

6 thoughts on “January 2017 Owlcrate Unboxing

Leave a Reply

