NaNoWriMo 2016

Winner

We are a fair way into the month of December, but I thought that I would do a quick recap of my NaNoWriMo experience this past November.

I actuality, my writing 50k went very well this year, and was much more enjoyable than it was in 2015. I can come up with a number of reason as to why that was.

Last year I had decided to experiment and try something completely new. This year, however, I had already been plotting my novel for 11 months and so I was eager to write it. My love for the plot and characters lasted the entire month.

Also, I actually plotted my novel this time. In 2015 I completely pantsed the entire thing. But I learned from that that I am a planner through and through, and writing without an outline stresses me out to no end.

I had planned to take this December as my editing month for my 2016 NaNo novel, but that would be difficult, seeing as I haven’t actually finished the story.

I did make it to my goal of 50k words, but I still have a third of the plot left. I’m a bit disappointed that I cannot yet edit, but I look forward to this becoming the longest work of fiction I’ve ever written.

So, for me, NaNoWriMo was certainly a success.

How did it go for you?

Leave a Reply

