NaNoWriMo 2016

 

It’s the middle of the month, and NaNoWriMo is in full swing.

At least, it should be.

NaNoWriMo 2016 Participant Banner

(I have a NaNoWriMo post from earlier this month, check it out here!)

The first week of NaNoWriMo went wonderfully. I was ahead of my word count and still in love with my story idea and characters. One of my scenes surprised me and expanded into multiple chapters and became more relevant to my story line and character development. I loved writing this section, but then it ended.

I didn’t write the next day because I had to plot the next section of novel, as I had no idea what needed to happen. I outlined it but then didn’t write, and the next day I woke up sick. I was ill for about a week, and only wrote for a few of the days, and I never caught up to my Word Count goal. Due to this I am still behind.

Not only was I not feeling up to writing, or even reading, but I have a dance performance coming up this Saturday, and I need to be in as good of health as possible. I had rehearsals and had to rest so that I would be able to participate in the necessary rehearsals and be well for the performance.

Now that I am feeling better, and the performance is in view, I am able to do some NaNoWriMo. Unfortunately, I am still a little bit uncertain on how this section of novel needs to progress and what needs to happen in it. Also unfortunately, I really only want to write the middle of the novel.

Thankfully, the end of this confusing section is approaching, and after that I will be able to write the scenes that I have been looking forward to for months.

That is my update on NaNoWriMo, and the short of it is that I really just need to sit myself down and force myself to write.

How is NaNoWriMo going for you?

Leave a Reply

