The Sea Kings Daughter + The Baker’s Dozen ~ By: Aaron Shepard (Reviews!)

Since these were a similar type of book, and they were by the same author, I decided to combine them into one post.

4 Stars

This was an an enjoyable Russian Fairy tale that I had not yet heard of, and I love Fairy tales of all kinds and from all places.
It was shorter than I had expected, though that was by no means a bad thing. It meant that I didn’t know when or how it was going to end.
The writing was perfect for the story; it would be easy for children to understand but would be equally as good if it were read by an adult; there was nothing simple or childish about it.
Lastly, I just have to mention the pictures. They are simply gorgeous. There were many of them too, perhaps there were more pictures than there were pages with words. The images were truly works of art.
I have added this book to my Christmas wishlist; I need it in physical form.

The Baker's Dozen: A Saint Nicholas Tale (15th Anniversary Edition with Bonus Cookie Recipe and Pattern for St. Nicholas Cookies)

4 Stars

These pictures were so intricate, so detailed. Children will love to gaze at them and study them, looking at all of the people and the sweep of their clothes, their hair. The colors of the page.
Everyone would enjoy these pictures, not just young children. They are beautiful.
The story, though it didn’t rhyme, read like a poem and I had to keep reminding myself not to read it in a musical tone.
I hadn’t heard this tale before, but I can say that this particular version sounded wonderful as I read. The way that the words flowed together was perfect.
This story tells of the power of giving, and is sure to put you in the Christmas spirit.

Leave a Reply

