Review: Amanda Lester and the Pink Sugar Conspiracy ~ By Paula Berinstein

Amanda Lester and the Pink Sugar Conspiracy by Paula Berinstein

4 Stars

View the Book on Goodreads

There’s something about this book that draws me in and I can’t quite put my finger on it.

Perhaps it was the concept. It was the concept that made me interested in this book before I even read the description. This isn’t a school for fairy tale characters, which seems to be a popular theme at the moment. No, it is a school for the descendants of famous detectives, and this is a very different theme than fairy tale characters. I enjoyed reading about the way that the school functioned, as well as about the different classes offered. It was a new take on the ‘Descendants School’ theme and I enjoyed that.

Perhaps the thing that drew me in was the characters. I can honestly saw that reading about the different characters and their interactions was my favorite part of this book. I enjoyed watching their relationships with each other develop change. I particularly liked Ivy. The reason for this is because even though she is blind, she still attends this detective school and is one of the best sleuths in our cast of characters. Due to her lack of eyesight, Ivy has a wonderful sense of hearing, and it was interesting to see how this, as well as the use of her Seeing Eye dog, played into solving the mystery.

Also, it was unique how the main character was not descended from Sherlock, or Moriarty, or a ‘cool’ main character like them. No, she is descended from Lestrade, and that, also, played into the plot.

In the beginning of the novel the character has a rather strained relationship with her parents, and she dislikes both them and her Lestrade family ancestry. Near the end of the book you can see her opinions changing and she comes to appreciate, and even love, both of those things.

Now it is time to talk about the mystery itself. In the book, there are really two mysteries going on, and the characters have to sort out which clues go with one, and which with the other. This makes it trickier for the reader to figure out, and will keep them guessing at the solution. The last 20% of the book was very exciting, and that was where you learned the answer to the mystery.

I would be shocked if you managed to figure out the mystery’s answer. It was very creative and very unique.

The writing could seem a bit simple at times, but it didn’t bother me significantly, and for the most part the writing style was pleasing. Strangely, my interest waned during the middle of the book. This only lasted for a few chapters, however. Also, the fact that my interest waned could very well have been because I was approaching a reading slump.

So perhaps it is the characters who are drawing me to this series, or perhaps it was the uniqueness of the plot, the mystery, and solution. Either way, I look forward to reading the rest of the series.

Leave a Reply

