Princess Adele’s Dragon ~ By Shirley McLain ~ Blog Tour (Excerpt + Interview!)

About the Book

Princess Adele sets out to save her and her brothers Kingdom from a beast that threatens their way of life. What she encounters is totally unexpected and sets her on a new path. If you like gothic times with Kings, Princess’s, Castles and bad guys then you will like this young adult fantasy. You will fall in love, hate the bad guy and fight war.

Excerpt

Princess Adele’s face paled when she heard the words of her brother. Her large green eyes stared at his face as she spoke. “Robert, it’s inhuman. You can’t do that. If the child were yours, what would you be thinking?”

“Look, Adele, I didn’t come to this decision without doing a lot of soul-searching. Do you not think I haven’t run this through my mind a million times? I don’t know any other way to keep our kingdom safe from that monster. The counselor told me it’s worked in the past.”

“I don’t care what your mighty counselor said. You can’t do this. There must be another way.” Princess Adele turned from her brother, the King, leaving him standing in the room alone. Her plan must be executed before the full moon.

How such a monster threatens her beautiful home is almost too much to comprehend. If only Anthony was here. He’d know what would be needed to stop this unthinkable act. Tears rolled down Adele’s cheeks as she thought of her beloved Anthony. She enjoyed the world one day, deep in despair the next. What happened? Why did he leave?

The Princess recovered her emotions and resolved to come up with another plan besides sacrificing a beautiful child to the creature. There ought to be another way. Arriving at her bedchamber, her lady’s maid waited for her.

As Adele entered her room, Miranda bowed “Your Highness”, she said.

“How many times do I need to tell you, Miranda, you do not bow to me and call me “Your Highness” every time I enter the room when we’re alone. We’ve been like sisters since the age of four.”

“I know, Adele, but if I don’t do it all the time, I may forget. If I call you, Adele in public His Majesty’s ogre of a counselor will behead me or something worse.”

“What’s worse than having your head chopped off?” Adele asked.

“Made to marry a man I do not love.” Miranda helped the Princess change into her sleeping gown to make her ready for bed.

“Robert has tried to marry me off too many times to count. Six years ago, before we married, Anthony ran away for some reason. ”

“You don’t believe that any more than I do, Adele,” With a soft voice Miranda said, he loved you more than life, and it showed in everything word and action he made. Changing the subject, what did the King say?”

“He plans to go through with the sacrifice on the night of the full moon, which is in two weeks.” Princess Adele’s covered her face with her hands as tears began to flow. Her voice trembled as she spoke. “I can’t sit here and do nothing. A child sacrifice is unconscionable to me.”

“What can a girl of your small stature do against a dragon? Many Knights died fighting that dragon. I can see you dead before you even get to the lair.”

Princess Adele climbed into bed. “You know I can do anything a man can. She stifled a yawn then said “Goodnight, my dear friend. I hope you sleep well,”

Author Interview

(I asked a lot of questions, and got great answers! I had a lot of fun reading through the interview. There’s too many to post here,so I’ll just share my favorites.)

Shirley McLain

What was it that made you interested in becoming an author?

I really can’t tell you why. I’ve always loved reading but I woke up one morning after I retired from being an RN for 32 years and decided I wanted to write a book. So, that’s what I did. That was in 2010 and I haven’t stopped yet.

Do you outline your novels before you write them? Why or why not? (Are you a planner or a pantser?)

No, I don’t outline. I am definitely a pantser. I’ve never been one who liked outlines. Even way back when I was end school. I would write my paper and then do the outline to match it. That was one of the things that I did in school my teachers didn’t find out about.

Who was your favorite character to write in ‘Princess Adele’s Dragon’?

Princess Adele was my favorite character.  I like strong, independent women who can take care of themselves if they need to. She wasn’t afraid to tackle anything. She was very much a woman with a mind of her own.

What is your advice to aspiring writers who struggle to find motivation to write?

My advice is to not be afraid to write. Fear deprives us humans of many things. I would find a quiet place with a pen and tablet writing down your thoughts or possible book subjects. Set by a time when you can relax and let your mind wander around your world and the people you know. Make up some characters. I feel the more you write the more your Muse will give you inspiration and motivation.

If you could have one superpower, what would it be?

I would be known as Peace Woman.

I would wave my hand and the world would be at peace or I could visit the country, wave my hand and there would be lasting peace. No more fighting or killing.

Have you ever done something that most people would consider daring, like skydiving? If yes, what was it? If not, what is holding you back? (Personally, I wouldn’t even go on a roller coaster!)

I hate rollercoasters or any kind of a Carnival ride, but I love to scuba dive. I received my diving certification when I lived in Hawaii and it opened up a world of wonderful sights. I did a boat dive one time with a group and we got into a school of tiny jellyfish we couldn’t see but could defiantly feel them. That’s when I found out that steak tenderizer helps with the pain.

Have you ever done any ‘U-pick foods’? Such as strawberries, blueberries, etc. (I recently went blueberry picking and have been snacking on them this morning.)

Being a country girl, I was raised picking food. I’ve even climbed cherry and apricot trees to sit on the limbs and eat the fruit I could reach while mom and dad picked. Of course I’ve picked fruit and harvested a garden numerous times as an adult.  There’s nothing better tasting than home grown garden vegetables. I have tomatoes and bell peppers growing now in large flower pots. I can’t wait for the sixty days to pass so I can eat them.

It’s been a pleasure to share a little about me with you.  Have a blessed day.  Shirley McLain

~

I had a great time doing that author interview, and hope that you enjoyed it just as much as I did!

Answer some of the interview questions; I love to hear from you!

 

One thought on “Princess Adele’s Dragon ~ By Shirley McLain ~ Blog Tour (Excerpt + Interview!)

  1. Thanks for being part of this tour! I enjoyed reading the interview! I wish we had some places to do that u-pick fruit around here. The only thing I once did was apple and pear picking.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

