Review: The Worlds Traveler ~By M. L. Roble

The Worlds Traveler by M.L. Roble

4 Stars

View the Book on Goodreads

I received a copy through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

It took me a while to get into this book. Whether it was the book’s fault or my own fault, I can’t say with complete certainty. I did receive a NetGalley copy of this before I realized that it was a sequel. Perhaps I would have been interested in the plot earlier if I had read Book 1 and known the concept and characters beforehand. It did take me a little while to catch on to who everybody was, the concept, and the main problem of the plot. I would say that about 20% into the book I had a pretty good grip on everything.

There were certainly some scenes that I was much more interested in than others. All of the scenes were necessary to the plot of the novel, and none of them were boring. Indeed, they were all interesting; it was just that I was less interested in some scenes than in others.

Of course, characters having special abilities is not at all a new concept,but I felt that the way that it was done in this book was very creative and very different from other stories. It wasn’t just the children who had abilities, either. It was also the adults; in fact, there was a whole group of people who could do unusual things. In this book there is some backstory given as to how these abilities came about. This backstory makes the development of the idea even more original.

I just thought of something else that I ought to mention. I like that the adults were intelligent. The children, of course, disobeyed them at times, but that doesn’t mean that the adults were wrong or foolish. A lot of modern writing either disregards adults completely, or makes them out to be fools. I like when I am able to read a book with a variety of character ages and personalities, where both adults and the children are rational and necessary to the novel.

The plot was engaging. The series of events and how they progressed and connected was done very well. Once I got about 50% of the way through the book I found that my interest had increased greatly and I was very interested in what was happening and what was going to happen.

One of the characters has the ability to travel to other worlds. There were three worlds visited in the course of the book, and one other one was mentioned. As I’m thinking about it, this also would seem to be a typical plot device, and one that would be hard to make interesting. But just as the author took the concept of special abilities and made it exciting again, they made the description of new worlds just as interesting. There was no part of this book that I thought was ridiculous or juvenile.

This book holds its own; there were no holes in it and everything worked together nicely. The story has a solid feel to it and the author makes old concepts new and fresh once more.

Leave a Reply

