Review: Delilah Dusticle and the Cursed Tempest ~ By: A. J. York

Delilah Dusticle and the Cursed Tempest by A.J. York

4 Stars

View the Book on Goodreads

I received a copy from the author in exchange for an honest review.

This series is so much fun!

It has been a while since I read the previous books in the series, so it took me a bit to remember all of the characters. While I do recommend reading this series in order, you would probably catch on to the characters and concept fairly quickly. However, the previous books are just as clever and just as much fun as this one was, so I suggest that you read those as well.

This series is very lighthearted, and the books are engaging, easy to read in one sitting. Sometimes, a novel can be really heavy, and full of chaos and plot twists, and that can be good on occasion. However, sometimes there is that light easy read that is just so much fun that it makes you smile. That is how I think of the Delilah Dusticle books. Sometimes the characters act a bit silly, and it just makes the story that much better.

I enjoyed the plot of this installment in the series. I found that I was engaged and interested in what happened. I also found myself unable to predict the ending. Because I wasn’t expecting it, I was very pleased with the way that it turned out.

The characters were even more lovable than I remember them being. Sometimes they act a little silly, and once you realize that they have this tendency you will find yourself smiling at their behavior.

I also love how the author connects her various books and series. In this particular novel, there is a reference to her other book, Eliza Bluebell. I feel like later in the series these books may be connected, and I am definitely interested to see how it is done.

The last chapter of this book ended on something similar to a cliff hangar that set the stage for the next book in the series. As I read that last chapter I found myself eager to get my hands on Book 4.

The author’s writing style is pleasant, and I found that her words were easy to read. The plot was engaging, and its events flowed together nicely. The concept for this series is unique (The main character has the power to eradicate dust!), and each book is as fresh and exciting as the last.

I believe that this series would be a hit with not just children and middle grade readers, but also with adults who enjoy reading a story that makes them smile.

This most recent installment in the Delilah Dusticle series was creative, the characters enjoyable, and the solution to the problem pleasantly unpredictable.

Leave a Reply

