Review: Genius: The Game ~ By Leopoldo Gout

5 Stars

Goodreads ‘About the Book’

I received a copy from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

This is one of those books that I loved, but have no idea how to review, simply because it was so uniquely enjoyable.

I loved all of the characters, particularly the three main characters. I thought that each character was well developed with distinct personalities.

Tunde’s speech pattern was distinctive and it made reading the character’s thoughts and comments interesting.

The concept of the novel was compelling; during the first half of the story I was just thinking about how much fun it would be to be recruited for The Game, or perhaps to know coding so well that I could hack into things.

Reading about The Game itself was enthralling; this portion of the novel was fast paced. Though things were resolved quickly it didn’t feel like I was cheated out of information or that the author was skimping on detail. It was fast paced, but I thought that the pace was fitting for the scenes and that it succeeded in keeping the reader engaged.

There were twists and unexpected turns, and a few of them shocked me and left me wondering about how these newly created problems would be solved. Because of the plot twists, the reader never knows what is going to happen and the ending is unpredictable. The ending was amazing, a perfect stopping point for the novel. Even so, I find myself wondering what happened next.

This is one of the best novels that I have read in the past year. I highly recommend it!

Leave a Reply

