Exciting Book Sale Finds

Twice a year my local library holds a giant book sale. Though the sale is mostly for books, you can also find movies, CDs, records, audiobooks, and games. They sell some old library books, but most of the merchandise is donated by people looking to get rid of their stuff.

And everything is priced very low.

Sometimes 25 – 50 cents per book low.

This is what I acquired at the sale.

image

This looks like a lot, but it really isn’t. At least half of these book I had bought on 10 cent day to put into Little Free Libraries.

There are some items, however, that I am keeping and some that I am very excited about.

image

For those of you who don’t know who The Monkees are, I recommend you go here and here.

I would never have expected to find Monkees CDs at any sort of sale, so when I located Disk 1 I was very excited. A few moments later my mother pulled out the other three and handed them to me. After much deliberating, I decided to buy them for a total of $8.

It was worth it.

Look at these CDs, guys. Aren’t they awesome!

image

Someone I knew found this version of P&P at the sale last year. Consequently I was hoping that I would find one at this sale. I found one, paid $5 for it and have already rewatched all 5 hours of since I made the purchase.

This is a very well-done adaption, for those of you who may not have seen it.

Another note: I can’t watch or read P&P without laughing, and I have never gotten through the miniseries without pausing it because of the awkwardness of Darcy’s proposal.

Also: Ugh. Wickham.

image

They have a Collector’s Corner at the sale. This is where they sell old books and it is now my new favorite section. I have always been to afraid to go look for books inside there, because I thought that they would be highly priced.

For the most part they aren’t. There were one of two extremely expensive things, I noticed one that was $200. I found myself wondering how the sale actually managed to acquire such a thing.

There was a section on the outside of the Collector’s Corner where they put all the old books that were in worse condition. For these ones you would collect what you wanted and then make an offer for the price. The green books shown above were ones that I found in the ‘Make an Offer’ boxes.

image

These are the two books that I got inside of the Collector’s Corner. They cost $1 and $3 respectively.

The most exciting part about these, though, is that they were both owned by the same kid!

image

I’ve also recently discovered the joy of Little Gift Books. They take up no room and can be thrown in a purse for easy entertainment. I have decided that I plan to build up a collection of them.

The Alice in Wonderland and Wizard of Oz books are unabridged.

image

I got this really pretty, leather bound Rip Van Winkle.

image

It appears to be a copy from 1885 that I bought for a quarter. The old owner was keeping old newspaper clippings inside, which was interesting to see.

~

Those were the purchases that I was most excited about.

Which is your favorite? Have you made nay great book purchases lately?

Leave a Reply

