Camp NaNoWriMo Day 4

Participant 2016 - Web Banner

I am feeling fairly successful with my word count so far. I am at 4997 of 30,000 words and I hardly wrote anything yesterday.

Often during NaNoWriMo I feel like I don’t have enough plot points to allow me to reach my word count goal. I am not feeling that way with this story. In fact, I think that I may end up exceeding the goal, which would be very exciting.

My Cabin is a lot more active this year than last. Last year there were only three people who participated in the chat, but this year we have closer to eight. The cabins are one of my favorite parts about Camp, so I’m very happy about this.

I missed the first virtual Write-In; I wasn’t home when it took place. NaNoWriMo hasn’t scheduled any other Write-Ins as of yet, but I’m hoping to be able to attend most, if not all, of those. They are a great way to get in some extra words using the optional prompts you are given during the video.

I’ve also participated in a few Word Sprints this week via Twitter; I’d forgotten how much fun those are. You write as many words as you can in a designated amount of time and then report back. I find it a very effective method! It helps to change the pace of writing. You write as quickly as you can, go talk to other NaNoWriMo participants for a few minutes, and then return to your novel for another sprint.

I need to re-plot my novel. The night before Camp started I had a wonderful new idea for the plot, an idea that I like much better than my original one. I’m still using the same concept for the book, the same characters, setting, and even some plot points. I have simply changed the main ‘problem’.

While this has made me more excited to write, it also means I have to plot my story all over again.

I have decided to make this the first book in a trilogy; the second of which I hope to write for the July Camp NaNoWriMo.

How is your Camp NaNoWriMo experience going so far?

Leave a Reply

