A Barnes and Noble Adventure

We don’t have a Barnes and Noble where I live. We only have a Books-a-Million.

This is unfortunate to the extreme.

And now, after visiting Barnes and Noble and realizing that I spent three hours there just walking around and looking at books, I understand how much more I prefer it to Books-a-Million.

While Barnes and Noble feels organized and relaxing, with all the books displayed in a manner that draws you toward them, Books-a-Million tends to feel more like a child’s store and of lesser quality that the former.

This is not what I wanted to talk about in this post, however.

I spent three hours looking around and didn’t buy anything because I didn’t want to spend the money and I have no room to put the books. (I am currently working on clearing out my current collection. More on this another day.) I instead decided to check them all out from the library.

Later, after stopping at another store and getting lunch, I realized that I had an old, unused gift card in my purse.

I returned to Barnes and Noble.

I bought this:

The Professor and the Madman

Hidden within the rituals of the creation of the Oxford English Dictionary is a fascinating mystery. Professor James Murray was the distinguished editor of the OED project. Dr. William Chester Minor, an American surgeon who had served in the Civil War, was one of the most prolific contributors to the dictionary, sending thousands of neat, hand-written quotations from his home. After numerous refusals from Minor to visit his home in Oxford, Murray set out to find him. It was then that Murray would finally learn the truth about Minor – that, in addition to being a masterly wordsmith, he was also an insane murderer locked up in Broadmoor, England’s harshest asylum for criminal lunatics. The Professor and the Madman is the unforgettable story of the madness and genius that contributed to one of the greatest literary achievements in the history of English letters.

This is Non-fiction.

I found 11 books to put on my Goodreads to-read list, but I want to share some that I am most interested in.

Salt to the Sea

Winter, 1945. Four teenagers. Four secrets.

Each one born of a different homeland; each one hunted, and haunted, by tragedy, lies…and war.

As thousands of desperate refugees flock to the coast in the midst of a Soviet advance, four paths converge, vying for passage aboard the Wilhelm Gustloff, a ship that promises safety and freedom.

Yet not all promises can be kept.

This one has a really high Goodreads rating, so that is very encouraging. This was also suggested to me by someone that I had just met at the bookstore; she loved it and her daughter loved it. It a historical fiction that is based off a true story.

Moriarty: A Novel

The description is long so I suggest you look at the Goodreads page.

I saw this one on a table and picked it up. Its not necessarily my usual genre but I still want to give it a shot because it sounds like it would be exciting. It also is based after Reichenbach Falls.

The Disappearing Spoon: And Other True Tales of Madness, Love, and the History of the World from the Periodic Table of the Elements

Again, I suggest the Goodreads page.

Firstly, I like the cover. Secondly, it sounds fabulous and potentially hilarious.

What about you? What are some books that you hope to read soon? Also, do you prefer Barnes and Noble or Books-a-Million? Why?

5 thoughts on “A Barnes and Noble Adventure

  1. I live in a B-A-M only town too 😦
    I prefer B&N. I can spend hours at BAM and not find 1 of the books on my Goodreads to read list (out of over 50, including best sellers, which seems beyond ridiculous).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

