Review of Cogling ~ by Jordan Elizabeth Mierek

Firstly, I would like to apologize for my long absence. I was on a Disney cruise the other week and have had things to do since then. I hope to do a post about the cruise, and maybe include some pictures. However, that would take some time to prepare so for now I offer you a book review.

Cogling by Jordan Elizabeth Mierek (Did not rate because did not finish)

I received an ARC through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

The concept, plot, and writing were fabulous. However the latter half of the book was too dark for me and a few scenes made me uncomfortable.

Let’s start with what I did enjoy about this book.

Firstly, I really enjoyed the world building.
It was done well and I was interested in the various humanoid fantasy species that populated the world.

The writing was done well; the story flowed together and was pleasant to read.

The plot was engaging and I was truly interested to see what would happen next. I would put the book down, but find myself wondering what was going to happen.

Now for what I didn’t like.

The book was very dark. There were some disturbing descriptions of the hags’ actions, and some of the things were rather creepy. I feel like I could have gotten past that factor, if not for the fact that due to this book being intended for upper YA there were some scenes that made me fairly uncomfortable.

However, there were scenes that were a bit more lighthearted to give you a break from the dark mood of the rest of the novel.

In summation, the plot and concept were fabulous and kept me interested. However, I didn’t like the darkness and a few of the scenes.

Leave a Reply

