Quote from Wuthering Heights

‘My love for Linton is like the foliage in the woods: time will change it, I’m well aware, as winter changes the trees. My love for Heathcliff resembles the eternal rocks beneath: a source of little visible delight, but necessary. Nelly, I am Healthcliff! He’s always, always in my mind: not as a pleasure, any more than I am always a pleasure to myself, but as my own being.’

~ Emily Bronte (Wuthering Heights)

I love Wuthering Heights; I would consider it my favorite book. I read it in 7th grade.

When I describe the book to people, I say that it is the book where everyone is evil, everyone dies, and everyone is named after each other. Of course, I then have to explain that this is not the reason for which I like it. It is the irony of the story that I like.

What’s your opinion of Wuthering Heights? What is your favorite quote from it?

Leave a Reply

