Quotes and a Re-Read: Pride and Prejudice

“It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.”

~Jane Austen; Pride and Prejudice

I simply had to put this gif here to welcome you to the post.

I am very excited because this week I will be doing a re-read of Pride and Prejudice, which I haven’t read for about 5 years.

To build up to this, I have been watching a few different adaptions of the novel, including the 1940 movie:

Which I have only just found existed. I know a lot of people were saying that this was their least favorite adaption, but I actually quite liked it. Of course, it was in Victorian times instead of Regency, the Bennet daughters’ dresses were more elaborate than they should have been able to afford, and there was a bit of a change in Lady Catherine’s character at the end. Even so, I really enjoyed it and the changes really didn’t bother me.

Perhaps I have a partiality to old, black and white movies.

“She is tolerable, but not handsome enough to tempt me, and I am in no humor at present to give consequence to young ladies who are slighted by other men.”

~ Jane Austen; Pride and Prejudice

The next version I watched was one I borrowed from a friend, and you are likely familiar with it: the 1995 miniseries.

With being 5 hours long, you know that this adaption is going to be accurate.

I am looking forward not only to being able to read the book again (because the book is always better), but I am also looking forward to being able to make a comparison of the novel to both of these adaptions.

Would anyone like to join me for a re-read? Let me know if you’ll be joining me, and tell me your favorite P&P adaption in the comments!

“The person, be it gentleman or lady, who has not pleasure in a good novel, must be intolerably stupid.”

~ Jane Austen; Pride and Prejudice

P.S.

I’m doing a giveaway; Enter Here!

Leave a Reply

