Prepping for the Upcoming NaNoWriMo

NaNoWriMo is coming up soon! Unfortunately, I am still deciding on which story I am going to write. I have two ideas. I came up with the first idea last year, when I found out about NaNoWriMo. It’s been sitting in my head for a while. I haven’t added to the plot very much, it is still quite skeletal, but I’ve added multiple characters, which is always fun! When I was trying to decide last year what I should write for this upcoming NaNo, I decided to try my hand at a High Fantasy, which is the genre that this idea would likely fall into.

The other idea is also a fantasy, though it is set in our world. I came up with this idea when I was perhaps twelve. I have a fair idea of what I want to happen in it. It isn’t quite as skeletal as my High Fantasy idea, but it isn’t as planned as I would like it to be.

I would definitely say that I prefer to plan out my novels before I even begin to write them. I plan out as much of the novel as I can: the plot, the characters, the characters’ thoughts and emotions. I usually also have notes to remind myself that I wanted to expand a section or add a scene somewhere.

Planner Badge

This has been the badge that has represented my novel prep methods.

This year, however, I think I am going to have to wing it. I only have a basis of what I want to happen in either story, and I don’t even know how I want them to end! Will I be making sequels? Will it only be one novel? I don’t know yet! I will probably end up being, as NaNoWriMo says, a pantser.

Pantser Badge

I suppose that this is my new badge for the upcoming NaNoWriMo. 

Moving on from my uncertainty over my ideas, I have more NaNo news. I got a NaNoWriMo shirt!

image

I really like the shirt this year, and its very comfortable. I’m wearing it as I type this blog post, actually.

I suppose you’re wondering about the dodo bird I’m holding.

It so happens that he is my writing buddy. NaNoWriMo has a Squishables writing buddy, who (I believe this is what happened) we NaNo participants named Blobby. He is on Twitter.

My dodo bird is named Pickwick, which is a book reference. Yes, it is a reference to the Pickwick Papers, but there is another book as well… if you happen to know what it is, leave a comment about it!

I expect that my cuddly Pickwick will be very encouraging when I don’t want to write or don’t know how a scene should go. This is the first writing buddy I’ve ever had, so it should be fun!

As to my NaNo Prep, I’m just hoping that I can decide on which story to write before November!

How are you prepping for NaNoWriMo? Do you have a writing buddy?

One thought on “Prepping for the Upcoming NaNoWriMo

  1. There’s still plenty of time to plan before NaNo, if that’s how you normally work best! Organize those ideas and brainstorm new ones! You can do it!

    Ahem, sorry, I can’t quite suppress my cheerleader instincts these days. Seriously, though, don’t give up on having a more solid plan. I’m still looking for the spark of an idea to grow into a novel. I have an outline to fall back on, but for some reason, I really want to write something brand new this year. A month and change is lots of time to develop something.

    Like

Leave a Reply

