Camp NaNoWriMo ~ Success!

I did Camp NaNoWriMo two months ago, and I found that reaching my word count goal was a lot more difficult then than I did this time around. 

For this camp I wrote a retelling of the Twelve Dancing Princesses and I am also combining it with another fairy tale at a later point in the story. I had a lot less trouble getting enough words down with this story because there were significantly more plot points. I made my word count goal 25,000 words because I wanted it to be a  more relaxing camp experience and I didn’t want to have to worry about not making my word count goal.

The only problem is that I have completed my word count goal but am nowhere near the end of the story. I had expected to finish the novel, instead of only being a third of the way through. My plan is to keep writing this month, and try to get halfway through the novel by the end of camp.

After that, I’m not sure what I’m going to do. I may save the second half of the novel to write during the next Camp NaNoWriMo, which is nearly a year away, or I could just continue writing it in my spare time. I am leaning more towards this second option, that way I can start something completely new for next Camp.

I have not yet written anything longer than 30,000 words, though this current story that I am working on is fast approaching that number and nowhere near finished. The next NaNoWriMo is the original one; I’m going to have to find a way to write 50,000 words. Since this one takes place in November, I’m also going to have a lot more to do and won’t be able to focus solely on my writing.

What do you do when you don’t finish your novel during a NaNoWriMo?

Leave a Reply

