Most Underrated Disney Movie ~ 30 Day Disney Challenge – Day #16

This one was easy for me.

My answer is The Great Mouse Detective.

I talked a bit about this movie in my last post.

The Great Mouse Detective is a childhood favorite of mine.

The basic plot is that a toy maker is kidnapped from his workshop, leaving his young daughter alone. She then runs into Dr. Dawson, and then Basil, whom she convinces to help find her father. Basil only helps because the toy maker just so happened to be kidnapped by Basil’s nemesis, Professor Ratigan.

I remember loving this movie since before I could really remember the plot or even what it was called.

I then found it on Netflix and had to re-watch it. I wasn’t disappointed.

For a bit of time I had thought that this movie was a Disney-fied retelling of Sherlock Holmes.

It isn’t.

There is actually a book, called Basil of Baker Street. I have, unfortunately, not yet read this book. I had meant to borrow it from my library, only to find that they no longer had it.

It’s about Sherlock’s mouse counterpart; what more could you ask for? In fact, all the characters in the movie correlate to a Sherlock Holmes character. This may make the movie sound cheesy, but it really isn’t.

The whole thing is very ‘Sherlock Holmes’, from the dialogue to the characters. Of course, I didn’t realize this when I was little. Now that I’m older and understand this fact, it makes the movie all the more fun to watch, especially with the references.

If you have seen this movie, what do you think?

What do you think the most underrated Disney movie is?

3 thoughts on “Most Underrated Disney Movie ~ 30 Day Disney Challenge – Day #16

Leave a Reply

