Favorite Disney Heroine ~ 30 Day Disney Challenge Day #3

Disney decides who the princesses in their official lineup are using very strange rules. The basis of the rules is that the princess must be the main female protagonist in the first movie of a series and not a sequel, she must ‘fit’ the princess mythology, and she must be human or mostly human so as to be portrayed in parks. It also depends a great deal on the box office success, which is a large part of the reason that Kida and Eilonwy are not official princesses.

When I decided to do this challenge, I decided to go by official title instead of Disney’s lineup. This leaves more options for my favorite heroine.

I think that if the title ‘Heroine’ fits any Disney character it fits Mulan.

The first time I watched the movie was last year. I suppose that I had never been interested enough in the movie to actually get around to watching it. Once I did, I was pleasantly surprised.

It’s funny that Mulan is in the princess lineup, only because she is so different from any of the other princesses. I mean, lets do a quick comparison:

  

Not hating on Cinderella. Personally, I find her a pretty strong princess. I don’t think I would have been able to tolerate Tremaine and the Ugly Stepsisters for nearly as long.

But I can see how Mulan fits the requirements. You can even claim a title saying that the Emporer bestowed grace to her, after she saved China and all.

But Mulan didn’t go fight because she wanted to fight. She went to fight because she loved her father. She wanted him safe. And she knew that she would never bring honor to her family by being ‘a perfect daughter’, so she took another route. An extremely risky route, but it worked out in the end. It makes me laugh. I mean, just look at what she accomplished by not being what everyone tried to make her.

So I find irony in that and it pleases me.

So my favorite Disney Heroine is Mulan, ambitious, loyal, dogmatic, independent.

On to Day #4.

Leave a Reply

