My First Two Days of Camp NaNoWriMo

I decided to blog about my Camp NaNo progress as a motivational thing. I also want to share this with you, and to be perfectly honest, as I write this at the end of the second day of camp (my first day of writing) I feel a lot like this:

I had originally had another story idea, the Pride and Prejudice retelling, but I wasn’t excited about it so I decided to change my idea to an old story that I had yet to get around to writing. It was also great because I also had an outline prepared.

My original Word Count goal was 40,000. But when I looked over my outline, that seemed unreasonable. So I lowered it to 30,000.

And I am probably a 5th of the way through my outline with only 1195 words written, including chapter titles.

The only reason I wrote chapter titles was to increase my word count.

Of course, I still have scenes to write, but knowing me, I don’t think I would be able to reach 30,000, the plot just doesn’t seem to need it.

So that is why, on the second day of camp, I am already researching how increase my word count. I am considering adding a character to increase conflict. But now I have to figure out a problem for his action to cause.

Overall, I’m enjoying myself, but feeling very ‘Troy’ at the same time. (See above Gif).

Apparently, if I write 999 words a day, I’ll finish on time.

Update:

 It is now the morning after I wrote that post. I’ve decided that my plan of action is to finish my original outline, and then go back and add in plot points and description.

Leave a Reply

