How I’m preparing for Camp NaNoWriMo

Camp NaNoWriMo is almost here and I’m getting excited! I haven’t participated in either Camp NaNo or NaNo before, so this will be a new experience.

For those of you who may not know, NaNoWriMo (and Camp) is where you take a month and write a certain amount of words. So basically you write a novel in a month. For the normal NaNoWriMo your story has to be at least 50,000 words, but for the Camp NaNoWriMo you have more freedom. You can write a revision, short story, script, and more, and you can set your own word count goal. It’s much more relaxed, and takes place in April and July. Even so, I made my word goal count goal 50,000, like it is in the traditional NaNoWriMo

I plan on doing three NaNoWriMo’s a year.

Anyway, I thought I would share my NaNo experience during this April. There are still 7 days until the actual writing starts, but I am going to use this week to plan and get to know my cabin mates.

Camp NaNoWriMo has cabins, which are a grouping of you and 11 other people. It is like a chat room, and you can all encourage each others’ writing! Or, if you’d like, you can just chat.

I want to get a NaNo survival kit prepared. I’m not yet sure what it will consist of. Off the top of my head here is a list:

  • Stock up on Hot Chocolate
  • Notebook to write down new story ideas and plot points to add into the current work
  • Headphones and a playlist (even though I don’t always listen to music while writing)
  • Snacks

And that’s about it. It’s not a lot to prepare at this point. I also hope to skim over Pride and Prejudice this week, and start converting the chapters. See, my NaNo project is an easier one than my own original idea. I want to re-tell Pride and Prejudice in a fantasy setting.

So, who else is preparing for Camp NaNoWriMo?

Leave a Reply

