Book Review : The Magic Trick ~ By Levi Stack

The Magic Trick by Levi Stack 5 stars

I received a copy from the author in exchange for an honest review.

For my review of The Silent Deal (the first in the series) click here. I highly recommend reading it, as this review will make more sense if you do.

Just like the first in the series, The Magic Trick kept you engaged and enthralled. It is a worthy sequel to The Silent Deal.
I’m not sure how to start this review, so I’m just going to jump in.
First of all, it was fantastic. However, I ought to tell you more than just that.
After Victor broke the Silent Deal, a contract binding everyone in the town to secrecy, it causes some problems. To add to Victor’s problems the Leopard (Master of the town) sends out a decree that certain children, whether serfs, gypsies, or nobles, are to report to Staryi Castle, to undergo training for a year’s time. At the end of the year, Apprentices will be chosen. This later proves to be an incredibly difficult and dangerous task. For each of the seven subjects, excluding one, there will be a Trial given to prove your worth. There is no promise that you will survive. Trials include cutting off dangerous animals’ horns, nearly cutting your fingers off, and other things.
Oh, and Romulus and Victor plan to raid Staryi Castle and free the prisoners held there.
One of the things that this author does very well is plot twists. These books are just full of them, some are minor and some have a great deal of impact, and I’m not sure that you can always tell which is which.
I don’t get to experience plot twists very often, for one of two reasons. Either because my friends unintentionally spoil things for me, of because I guess the plot twist before it happens.
Needless to say, that doesn’t happen with this series. I may think I know the answer to a problem, but then the true answer surprises me. It’s great!
Also, I’ve realized that since the book is written from Victor’s perspective, we only know as much as he does. So if he is assuming something, so are we. Even if it is spoken about as fact.
The novel is pretty fast moving, as is the previous one. There are chases and battle scenes, such as when they raided the castle, and the author did a marvelous job describing them; it really painted a picture in your mind.
It’s not only chases and battles that are well described, its the entire story. The description of each place, forests, gypsy tents, dungeons, all succeed in drawing you in.
As I reached the end of this book, I realized that it has not yet truly been revealed to us what the Leopard’s goal is.
And I only just noticed!
There are so many questions that you have as you read, that keep you plowing through the book, needing to know more, but as you go along, you only find that for every question answered, another arises. I still don’t know all the answers as I have finished it, and I’m looking forward to reading the next installment.
You continue to learn more about each character’s back story, whether circus performer or gypsy, and a good deal of it was surprising.
Some of the characters died this time around, and it only goes to remind you that you really can’t predict or expect anything.

I always find it somewhat hard to review book without giving out major spoilers, but I’ll tell you that is you enjoyed the Silent Deal, you’ll love its sequel!
To recap:
The Magic Trick is a fantastic and worthy sequel to its predecessor, The Silent Deal. It keeps you on your toes, and I eagerly await the next installment.

One thought on “Book Review : The Magic Trick ~ By Levi Stack

  1. Pingback: Book Review: The Silent Deal ~ By: Levi Stack | LaChatBlanc

Leave a Reply

