I wish you a Merry Christmas!

Merry Christmas everyone! What a day for a blog post, huh?

Inconceivable Shocked animated GIF

My title was a feeble attempt to combine Christmas and the book I will be talking about.

Anyway, who’s heard of The Princess Bride? All (Most) of you? Good.

I’m not sure how many of you know this, but recently Cary Elwes (Westly) wrote a book about his experience making the movie. It’s called, As You Wish : Inconceivable Tales from the Making of the Princess Bride.

Displaying IMAG0868.jpg

Said book was one of my Christmas presents.

I’ve only just started it, but so far it looks terribly exciting. In the center of the book, there are a few pages of glossy behind the scenes photos.

The book itself goes throughout the making of the movie, and the experiences the actors all went through during that time. At this point I am still within the first 30 pages, but am enjoying it immensely. Apparently The Princess Bride was considered impossible to make into a movie. And it wasn’t as successful as you would have expected it to be at first.

My copy came with a limited edition poster. The poster is actually the inside of the book jacket. I didn’t know until I took the book jacket off the book to read it. Imagine my excitement! I may get the poster copied, so I can still have the jacket on the book.

Displaying IMAG0871.jpg

I saw Princess Bride in the theatres once, recently, actually. The theatre that I usually go to was having a ‘Retro Movies Week’. It was playing things such as ‘The Princess Bride’ and ‘Groundhog Day’.  It was pretty awesome.

Have you ever tried to get someone who has never seen ‘The Princess Bride’ to watch it? Someone who doesn’t have any interest in it? I have, and I responded to everything this person said in Princess Bride quotes. Confusion descended.

I used this:

and when they said they had to leave, I used this:

That really is one of the best parts of the movie. There are so many quotable lines that you can use in everyday conversation.

Thanks for taking the time to read this post, and I hope you all have a great day. You can expect a review of As You Wish to be posted once I’m finished.

One thought on “I wish you a Merry Christmas!

  1. Pingback: As You Wish: Inconceivable Tales from the Making of ‘The Princess Bride’ (Review!) | LaChatBlanc

Leave a Reply

