Sleeping Beauty and the Sharpie Shoes (2014)

I know you have all been in eager anticipation for this update, and I apologize for keeping you waiting for so long.

A few days ago I did a post on my experience with Sharpies and Pointe Shoes, promising an update on the show as well as on how well the shoes worked.

First things first, the shoes.

They worked very well! As far as I can tell, the Sharpie did not affect the reliability of the shoe. Another thing I was mildly concerned about was whether or not the Sharpie would rub off onto the stage. I am pleased to report that this did not happen, the stage remained its normal color without any spots of blue to be seen. Also, the shoes looked great from the audience.

One comment I have on the coloring of shoes, and this may be a drawback for many of you, is that the color did wear off onto my tights. Both the color from the ribbon and from the canvas of my shoes rubbed off onto it. It also colored my fingers every time I touched them. If you have a pair of pink pointe shoes, do not keep them with your colored pair. There are now faint blue spots on two of my other pairs of pointe shoes, as well as my flats (technique shoes). It was not visible from stage, thankfully.

On to the next point! Costumes.

Most of us have tutus (excluding the minions and the wolf). My tutu, however, was very strange. Here is a picture of my costume.

IMG_1192 (2)

The tutu is only on the sides and the back of the costume, in the front there is only the fringe and leggings. The entire costume, after I danced, was very hot. After you do a variation you are already hot and sweaty, and my costume made it worse. It didn’t last too long, though.

My other ‘complaint’ (if you can call it that) was the tutu. It felt very strange. In the jumps and running I really didn’t notice it much, but for the turns (two pique turn, two chaines, and a soutenu, repeat in a circle around Florine, then three piques turns), it unbalanced me. Since the weight was unevenly distributed, I could feel the tutu as I moved and even when I stopped moving or changed turns it continued going. This made a already difficult turn sequence (for me) harder.

But, at least the costume looked great!

IMG_1199 (2)

IMG_1204 (2)

The variation was still fun, even when the costume was difficult!

The last thing I want to say is that it went off without a hitch. Usually, something happens during the show that requires a bit of improv from the other performers. One year a girl’s shoe flew off as she completed her final leap across the stage.

That was hilarious.

But everybody remembered their part, they performed the tricky parts of the variations very well, and overall I think it was fantastic. I enjoyed watching from the stage everything we had been rehearsing.

I am slightly disappointed that I don’t have any amusing inside stories for you, but oh well, I guess that means it was good.

My makeup was the most hectic thing, the person doing my makeup had to do it every time she was off the stage during Act II. It was very impressive.

This is me, signing off!

IMG_1264

2 thoughts on “Sleeping Beauty and the Sharpie Shoes (2014)

  1. Pingback: Coloring! My Pointe Shoes? | LaChatBlanc

Leave a Reply

